Monkey Business on Craigslist

BEWARE WHEN REHOMING/GIVING AWAY YOUR ANIMALS (EVERETT** please do not flag PLEASE READ)


Date: 2012-03-20, 11:26PM PDT

I UNDERSTAND DIFFERENT THINGS CAN HAPPEN TO A PERSON AND THEY NEED TO REHOME THERE ANIMALS OR FIND NEW HOMES FOR THEM. UNDERSTANDABLE. PLEASE CAN I JUST ASK 1 THING, PLEASE DO YOUR RESERCH AND VISIT THE HOME BEFORE REHOMING OR GIVING AWAY. THERE IS A LAB IN EVERETT WA THAT WILL SERCH THESE ADDS TO EXPEREMENT ON YOUR ANIMAL, AS A MEMBER OF PETA, PLEASE FOR YOUR ANIMALS SAKE DO YOUR RESEARCH. THE LAB IS CALLED SNBL LAB. THEY DO TESTING ON ALL KINDS OF ANIMALS AND IN A SHORT TIME WILL BE HAVING A HUGE NUMBER OF MONKEYS DELIVERED TO THEM TO DO THERE EXPEREMENTS ON. THESE ARE WILD CAUGHT AND SNATCHED FROM THERE FAMILY SOME YOUNG WHO STILL NEED THERE MOTHER, OR THE MOTHER WHO CAN NO LONGER FEED HER YOUNG. PLEASE DO NOT FLAG, IM JUST TRYING TO HELP AND HAVE A VOICE FOR THESE ANIMALS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6SyZ9_NFjw

HERE IS JUST ONE OF PETAS PLEAS TO HELP

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=01g6jX5-WoA THIS ONE KIRO CHANEL 7 DID THERE INVESTIGATION

  • Location: EVERETT** please do not flag PLEASE READ
  • it’s NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests

Most of what this person says is true. There are too many people dumping dogs on CL and not caring where they go. Some of them no doubt end up in research facilities and biology classrooms (like my comparative anatomy class in college which used tons of dead cats), and many will end up in shelters to be euthanized. I have no problem telling people that. I also have no idea about the monkeys, but they have to come from somewhere. I thought domestic facilities supplied most of these lines of research animals, however I don’t know for certain. I don’t like monkeys, so better them than me when it comes down to researching cures for terrible diseases. There are some valid points there, but why, why can’t PETA recruit people who have a small grip on reality AND an 8th grade education?

Back to the monkey business and why I don’t like them: I used to work for a small but wonderful Vet for many years which helped support me thru college. My first summer introduced me to my first true exotic client, a service monkey named “Minnie”.

Service monkey=oxymoron right? Definitly.

I will forever recall Minnie in terms of Homer Simpson’s service monkey, Mojo:

Minnie, a capuchin, came to us for vaccines prior to her being shipped back to her place of origin for a spay. You see, monkeys cycle every 30 days like people, and well, Minnie liked to make God cry, a lot, in public, and the thought was that spaying would help with that problem.

Minnie had  been specially trained for a total quadraplegic, and would perform tasks such as replacing his hands if they fell from his chair, dabbing his face with a wet washcloth, and probably a very helpful trick that came naturally to her, grooming him. As she needed to have her teeth removed due to biting, she would give him pieces of fruit or food to pre chew for her, and her reward was eating it out of his mouth. Mmmmm.

Minnie was also litter box trained (do you see where this is going?) And, being the spiteful and sneaky creature she was, when she became angry, she would insert dead bugs and her poop into her helplessly immobile owners mouth.

A fucking dog would never have done that, and it could open doors too probably, or dial 911, but not a masturbating monkey that smears feces in it’s owners mouth. Why a monkey for Christ sake??? Anyways, when we gave her the rabies shot, she screamed at me and slapped me with her filthy monkey fingers and I almost died of terror thinking I was going to catch simian herpes. And this is why I think PETA can go fuck themselves, because monkeys are PERFECT research subjects.

7 thoughts on “Monkey Business on Craigslist

  1. I’m no fan of monkeys either, but you have to remember that they are highly intelligent, highly social wild animals that have been thrust into an alien, unnatural environment when they are kept as pets. It must be much like being a slave as a human. I I don’t doubt that monkies and apes can resent being pets. Who can blame them?
    I think they should be illegal as pets, and should remain free in the wild. Far away from me, but living out their primate lives in happiness and dignity.
    I would rather they not be research subjects, if any alternatives can be found. Now that we have more tissue culture possibilities, perhaps fewer primates can be used in research.
    I also HOPE that PETA continues to employ ineffective humans!

  2. lol the slapping moment brought back memories. My crazy neighbor in Moscow used to keep a monkey and a goat in his tiny apartment. My grandma took me (a 3 year old) up one day to see the monkey and goat. I had a piece of candy with me that I was eating and the monkey just stared at me and slapped me in the face. According to my grandmother, I didn’t cry, but just turned bright red. Hated monkeys since.

  3. I saw this documentary on Nat Geo Wild a few weeks ago about these women who keep monkeys as their ersatz children. They call them their “monkids.” One woman called herself the monkey whisperer and showed other monkey moms how to dominate their monkids. The monkids regularly bit the children of these women, and every single one of them had their canine teeth removed.

    The documentary showed a capuchin monkey that a couple purchased when it was a small baby. It was a female monkey. She bonded to the husband. Then when she hit puberty, she decide to tear the wife’s face off.

    These monkeys are taken from their mothers when they are very small. They have something akin to monkey puppy mills, where the female monkeys have a baby, then the owner comes along, catchers her with a net and steals the baby. The breeder shown in the film brags about how some of her veteran females will see her coming with a net and will just throw their babies on the ground when they see her coming with a net. How screwed up is that?!

    I have never understood the point in service monkeys. Every time I read about pet monkeys as a kid, there was always a warning not to own one. Too many zoonoses. Too much aggression. And the animal is too smart for the average owner. And these were warnings for the typical person, not someone with disabilities.

Tell me what you think!

