Goodies for the Chickens

I bought some organic food pellets for the chickens, but I also want them to get as much green stuff as possible, since they can’t range where the dogs go on the lawn. A good solution suddenly occured to me when I was at my local green grocer/deli, Tacoma Boys. They make a lot of their own goods, and source organically from local farms. I asked for any green stuffs passed selling date or left over from their kitchen prep. This is what they were awesome enough to give me FOR FREE!

Zucchinni, cabbage and apples. They have a few other people who take the bruised fruits/veggies for their animals. So, not only do I absolutely love this store, now I can get FREE organic goodness for my little flock.

I chopped up some cabage heels, strawberries and apple cores to make the mix more yummy for them.

I turned down the free onions. In general, avoid giving your hens onion or garlic as it will taint the natural flavor of the eggs. Same applies with egg storage. I don’t refridgerate my eggs, but I am careful not to store them in the onion or garlic basket since they will absorb the odor. However, if you have fresh herbs that are good in omlettes, you can put them in a paper sack along with the morning eggs for a day, and this lends a very gentle flavoring to an already delicious home grown egg.

4 thoughts on “Goodies for the Chickens

  1. A regular gourmet feast…. Those hens should be dancing a merry jig. Good nutrition is so important from the biggest to the smallest of beasts : )

  2. I love FREE 🙂 Your hens look very happy. Do you think happy hens produce better quality eggs? As in, does stress (physical, emotional) play any role in their egg production or quality?

  3. Something I've heard is that you shouldn't give them cabbage for the same reason that you shouldn't give them garlic/onions (I keep picturing how stinky the cabbage is when my mom makes it with corned beef).That is awesome that you got treats for free for them, the grocers by us won't let s take any of the waste greens.

  4. @Fuzzy-Good nutrition sure is important! @Jen-Their stress levels really affect how they lay. Not enough heat, light, food or water and they stop laying. With lack of food, their shells are too thin and break, and without water, they stop laying completely, same thing if it's too hot or they are harassed by dogs. The big commercial producers will force the hens into a moult by putting them in darkness, starving them and holding their water so they can get another laying season from them. I expect my hens to lay well for at least 3-4 years if they are happy and clucky. The poor hens in the factories. I wonder what sort of stress hormones go into their eggs?@Crazy-I didn't know that! I will do some reading on it, thanks.

Tell me what you think!

