More Good Reasons to Spay and Neuter

Day 15 of Farrah’s first heat cycle. She is close to ovulating based on the color of her fluids and the boys’ sudden urgent desires to be right next to her. Ike and Grym are eating well and SUPER affectionate, but they have developed a sudden level of crazy energy and bravado that is frankly impressive. Ike has become extremely vocal and annoying, and Grym is a drooling knucklehead. They have demonstrated some equally impressive peeing contests around the yard, and my poor plants are taking the brunt of their displays.
Puppy acts completely normal, a bit tired at most, so it’s the boys’ reactions to the girls in season that further complicates owning intact dogs of both sexes. They are all rotated regarding yard times. When the boys are out, Farrah gets free run of the house with Beebe. The kitchen is her little palace I am calling Fort Lockdown (crate behind xpen behind baby gates). I’m trying to keep her down time as enjoyable as possible by giving her lots of bones to chew, taking her on outings and having friends over.
Farrah enjoyed a reprieve from the boys attentions
and went shopping with us at our favorite local hardware
store. Naturally, we bought some dogwoods.

4 thoughts on “More Good Reasons to Spay and Neuter

  1. Interesting! DO you think if someone was not going to breed, but kept a dog intact for maybe the overall health of the dog (like some natural dog trainers push – to not "fix" your dog) it wouldn't be worth it?I still don't have an opinion one way or the other. I just see litter after litter of pups on craigslist and at our shelter that it's hard not to advocate spay & neuter all the time.

  2. The color of the discharge really has nothing to do with the point she is at in her cycle. It will vary a lot from bitch to bitch and even cycle to cycle in the same bitch. My first show dog, a Saluki bitch, was like a blood faucet when in heat. She started bleeding on day one, dribbled all over the place for three weeks and had to wear panties, then suddenly, poof! Off. Very alarming! I called her breeder on her first heat, "Is this *normal*? The books don't say anything about blood faucets!" Her breeder told me, "Dogs don't read the book." And it's soooo true, I think they like to keep us guessing. My absolute favorite thing the boys do (NOT!) is that tongue sticking out, drooling, tooth chattering thing. OMG, it's so disgusting, you perv dog. Please go perv somewhere else. For some reason only my Salukis do that.My puppy contract requires that male dogs be kept intact until they are at least two years old. If there is a physical or behavioral problem, of course, we can neuter, but Salukis and presumably their derivatives are prone to hemangio and studies show that intact dogs have a lower risk. For bitches, I ask that the owner wait until after the first heat to spay, due to the cancer risk, but I understand that an intact bitch can be a pain to deal with so as long as they wait until the dog is close to a year old, I'm good. With the understanding that coated dogs can sometimes do weird things when spayed, especially if the puppy coat has not been shed out.One thing I found really interesting when I went from keeping mostly spayed/neutered dogs, to mostly intact dogs, was veterinarians. I was always pushed to spay, but when I declined, no vet ever sat down and said, "Okay, here is how the reproductive cycle of the dog works, and here is what you need to do keep your bitch from getting pregnant, and when you need to do it." Of course, I had bought every breeding/whelping book I could find, was in contact with the breeders of my dogs, was on mailing lists, etc. but not everybody does that, and I thought it was very curious that my vets would give me a hand out on why to spay/neuter but not one on how to avoid unwanted pregnancies if I chose not to.Sorry to be so long-winded!

  3. I have chosen to keep my guy intact until they need to come off for health reasons. I don't have any plans to breed him… The first time he was in the same building as a bitch in season, I didn't know about it. He wasn't quite a year old yet and I could not understand why he was acting so strange… vibrating, whinning, teeth chattering… We starting running down the list of dogs we had in the next room, and finally figured out that one of the dobie pups hadn't been spayed yet and sure enough was coming into season. I had him do push ups (sit, down, sit, down, sit, down… ) until he relaxed enough to lay down beside me. Phew!!He has been exposed to a few other bitches while they are in season at obedience class, etc and has not given a repeat performance. (Thank GOD!)

  4. Jen-I would not keep a dog intact that isn't being bred and won't be worked as I don't believe there really is an overall health benefit BEYOND the first year or so for controlling growth and mental maturity. After that's done, spay definately since pyo is life threatening. Jess- Pervy Uncle Ike (everyone has one in the family) does the teeth chattering and drooling, and Grym takes it to another level with the foaming around his mouth. I actually think they have gone insane right now. You're right, they don't read the repro books. I'm glad it's just a few drips here and there, a blood faucet sounds delightful. It is odd, no Vet, including the ones I worked for, ever went over the time frame or repro cycle for people who don't want to spay/neuter. I think they just assume that the dogs will be bred so why bother. I would require, for pets, spay after first heat if the owners are reliable, and neuter by 1 year.Sam- I was in agility with Ike for a while, but he decided one day to follow a girl, nose to butt, around the entire course. It makes it soo hard for him to concentrate since he is an experienced male and he knows what it's all about.

Tell me what you think!

