Babydoll Southdown Sheep

Seriously, aren’t these the absolute cutest sheep you have ever seen? I think they look like they are smiling 🙂

Here is a link to the National Babydoll Sheep Association. I think since they are much smaller than a traditional sheep, selective grazers, make nice spinning wool, and have modest needs, that a pair would do pretty well on a small ‘gentleman’ farm/property like mine.
I would have to supplement with grass hay, as the grazing would be limited. They would have shelter in the spacious Hen Hut at night and I would love to get Grym started on sheep or goats while he is still young.
I wonder how the Shibas would react? They really enjoy the run of the place and I am not sure I want to deal with them eating sheep poo, picking up parasites, and rolling in it. I suppose I could fence in some smaller areas where the Shibas don’t go anyway, and feed them mostly grass hay/grain.
I do think it is wise to keep the birds and future animals seperate in their own areas away from the house pets purely for cleanliness reasons as I don’t have multiple acreage. Grym was constantly eating the chicken poo, getting diarrhea, and all the dogs were getting chronic eye infections from rolling in it. Also, the chickens were comming up on the patio and that was quite a mess.
I built the chicken yard and “remodeled” the Hen Hut because of that, and lock the birds in for a week for worming. Although all of the dogs’ stool samples were negative for parasites, I wormed them all as well and treated the eye infections. No problems at all since keeping the chickens in their own space. I have to assume the same rule should apply for keeping sheep.
I would love to sell the wool, and breed them for meat (so darn cute tho, I would want the butcher to do the deed). Maybe I just need to wait another 10-15 years till I can buy more land?

3 thoughts on “Babydoll Southdown Sheep

  1. Or, I can come live with you now and help keep the sheep for you! Yeah. Good plan. Except you'd be adding at least three more dogs. Maybe that's a bad plan..

  2. Gosh they are so cute! You ask, "I do think it is wise to keep the birds and future animals seperate in their own areas away from the house pets purely for cleanliness reasons as I don't have multiple acreage." In answer, Yep I think it is a wise idea since your dogs live with you in the home. Dealing with on again off again digestion etc from barn surfing is not worth the extra hassle of clean up inside the house.Based on past experience I would say sheep and goats should have access to some grazing areas daily. IMHO ideally two pastures, a compost area, and shelter area. FWIW we had both species of herbivore on multiple pastures so we could rotate fields to allow for mowing, the grass to grow back, the sun to dry the lot which together reduces parasite load and keeps hooves in good order between trims. Sometimes in an enclosed area like petting zoos, after awhile a small lot can get pretty mucked up if it isn't rested, particularly if the ground does not have drain off or improperly graded and geographically you get lots of rainfall. Any small inner shelter barn should be swept or pitched daily of droppings and the animals should have a place to rest comfortably off the ground on a nice straw mound or platform. Which then leads to the next issue where to compost the residue or deal with run off that should be well away from the house or well water source. Even if some beasts are smaller they will still poop about the same, not in quantity necessarily but in frequency, so clean up will be best daily in a small area so you don't have the backbreaking work of front loading out large manure layers on the lot every 4 to 6 months. Also goats and some sheep are a little hard on the fences and woodwork so make sure you have a sturdy enclosure that is reinforced to avoid jumpers from escaping or stripping your planks or nibbling on electric etc etc. They are fun though if you have the right set up. They will talk to you so be aware the bahhing that will be on routine for feeding etc : ) Whatever direction you go have fun on the homestead!

Tell me what you think!

